Do What You Feel Friday!: Drink a Tall Boy for Mr. Butch

July 14, 2007 at 1:05 am | Posted in DWYFF!, Video | 6 Comments

“You got to be articulate every day and keep going on strong and straight and use your heart and all your might and all your weight and all your power.  Do what you can, make it last for many hour, ’cause once you’re dead, you’re done, you don’t come back.” — Harold Madison, Jr., aka Mr. Butch

butch.jpgWhen I lived in Brighton, I used to see Mr. Butch quite a bit.  But I had no idea he was such a local celebrity.

Sadly, the homeless musician, philosopher, and lover o’ ganj died yesterday at the age of 56

I have not researched this thoroughly, but I think it’s safe to say that Mr. Butch was the only homeless man to ever die by driving a Vespa into a pole.  Badass to the end.

I have a few loose ends to tie up before kicking the weekend into high gear.  But once I do, I’ll be honoring Mr. Butch’s memory to the fullest, in a way that would make him proud.  So lock up your women, Lowell, and hide your stash.

Here is an extensive feature story about Mr. Butch, written by one Kenneth St. Onge, who is a communist, rabble-rousing, union sympathizing ingrate.  Trust me.

PHOTO CREDIT: I have no idea why I feel like I should give a photo credit in this situation, when I generally just rip them off wherever I can find them.  But in any case, the above photo is from the Boston Globe’s Mark Wilson.  And this YouTube video is from your mama.

6 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Actually, it’s “wait with bated breath.” But whatever. Thanks for the post, and have a good weekend yourself. Jerk.

    P.S. Did you hear about the bear they killed in Athol? Big fucker, 5-600 lbs. Too bad. That sucker would have tasted great with some crawdads.

  2. holy smokes! i hadn’t heard about this bear. if any of its brethren try to come anywhere near me while i’m rolling around in scat in the woods, i will fuck that bear up two times. just like i do to b-rad’s meaty ankles whenever they come near.

    the ap story is pasted below.

    ATHOL – Police concerned with the safety of a crowd that gathered in downtown Athol to see a bear that had wandered into the area shot the animal after several efforts to tranquilize it failed.

    The bear, weighing an estimated 500 to 600 pounds, was eventually euthanized by state environmental police.

    “The Athol Police Department truly regrets the incident had to end in the manner that it did with the destruction of this truly awe-inspiring and amazing wild creature,” Chief Timothy Anderson said in a statement.

    The bear first showed up early in the afternoon, police Sgt. Christopher Casella said.

    Local police surrounded the bear until environmental police responded to the scene and shot it twice with tranquilizer darts so it could be relocated to an unpopulated area.

    But the drugs barely slowed the animal, which resisted several more efforts at tranquilization and forced police to tell onlookers to back up on several occasions.

    The bear eventually forced its way into an enclosed area surrounding a warehouse, and after another effort at tranquilization, was shot as it charged a gate in an attempt to escape.

    Athol, a community with roughly 11,500 residents, is about 70 miles west of Boston.

  3. Can’t drink tall boys tonight because I’m on some serious meds for an elbow currently the size of a grapefruit. Nevertheless I am DWYFFing by enjoying a lucythedog-sanctioned activity, melting down records while listening to records.

  4. I’m not going to debate Vespas. I’m going to debate something stupid without facts.

  5. Vespas are obviously racist.

  6. My favorite mr. butch memory is when I walked to the t and he called me a “real live fucking slut.” RIP


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

